Customer Reviews & Photos of Rub 'n Restore®

Picture of customer's faded aniline leather couch before
Picture of real customer's aniline leather couch after refinishing with Cognac Rub n Restore

Customer reviews

4.86
4.8552593866437 out of 5
Based on 3489 reviews
5
5 out of 5
93%
3239
4
4 out of 5
4%
127
3
3 out of 5
1%
39
2
2 out of 5
1%
36
1
1 out of 5
1%
48
1 2 ... 146
Douglas Loffert
1 out of 5
February 19, 2024
Color was way off!
I was very disappointed in the product. The color I received was not the color that was shown. I would actually like a refund.
Reply from Lesandre Barley:
We encourage folks to order swatches, as color is never to be trusted over screens. Had you reached out to us prior, we would have sent you some for free. You can email photos to info@rubnrestore.com, and we can suggest what could be used to modify Buckskin. Unfortunately it is often cost prohibitive to return the smaller 2 oz. sizes.
Robert Kunitz
5 out of 5
February 19, 2024
RNR marine white
Very good product. Works as advertised. Used multiple coats to cover discolorations.
Jeff H.
5 out of 5
February 15, 2024
Marvelous transformation
The color match was spot on. The directions were simple, and it was easy to use. The people at Rub 'n Restore were wonderfully helpful with all my questions.
Slate Vinyl & Leather Finish photo review
Slate Vinyl & Leather Finish photo review
Slate Vinyl & Leather Finish photo review
+1
Ted
5 out of 5
February 12, 2024
Slate
Excellent product
Really works well. One 16oz bottle got me 3 coats on a large sectional.
Walter A. Rella
5 out of 5
February 10, 2024
Excellent feed back from the marine world.
Waiting to use the product after I decide which color to use on my marine cushions.
Cherrywood Vinyl & Leather Finish photo review
Cherrywood Vinyl & Leather Finish photo review
Cherrywood Vinyl & Leather Finish photo review
After
Cherrywood Vinyl & Leather Finish photo review
+2
Mary Hayes
5 out of 5
February 8, 2024
Amazing
Amazing product!
KM
5 out of 5
January 30, 2024
Excellent product and customer service.
Tobacco Vinyl & Leather Finish photo review
Tobacco Vinyl & Leather Finish photo review
Tobacco Vinyl & Leather Finish photo review
Tobacco Vinyl & Leather Finish photo review
+2
Mary Alice Horos
5 out of 5
January 30, 2024
Turned out great!
My leather chair is about 18 years old. The seat cushion was looking very warn. Rub and Restore really fought the seat back to life.
Beige Vinyl & Leather Finish photo review
Ramona
5 out of 5
January 29, 2024
Presto! Like new again.
I saw this product on u-tube and purchased to see if I could refresh my six year old leather recliner. The headrest was wearing from the heat and oils from my head. I washed the leather with soap and water and then applied the leather dye and presto, I have a beautiful chair once again. I highly recommend this product. I have a darker recliner and I will be purchasing this product for my next project.
Stone Vinyl & Leather Finish photo review
Stone Vinyl & Leather Finish photo review
Stone Vinyl & Leather Finish photo review
Stone Vinyl & Leather Finish photo review
+2
Arthur jackson
5 out of 5
January 26, 2024
My wheel
Product was easy to use. Would recommend it to everyone.
Espresso Vinyl & Leather Finish photo review
Espresso Vinyl & Leather Finish photo review
Before
Espresso Vinyl & Leather Finish photo review
+1
Lynsie
5 out of 5
January 25, 2024
Highly recommend! Great product!
I thought I was going to have to spend thousands on a new couch, but then I read about Rub’NRestore. It was easy to use. I does take a few days to completely dry and cure, but my couch looks like new!!!!!! I am so happy this solution was available!!!!!
Me
1 out of 5
January 23, 2024
Much lighter in color than description. More mustard than cognac. Could not use.
Reply from Lesandre Barley:
Look at how many different versions of cognac leather there are here. This is why we encourage folks to order swatches to ensure ours is a good match to yours. If our Cognac is too light and yellow, you can modify it with Rust, Cinnamon or Tobacco using these instructions. We can be of more help if you email us a picture of the Cognac applied to your leather taken from a short distance away.
Ben Wankel
5 out of 5
January 19, 2024
So happy!!!
An hours work including cleaning and dry time. I don’t think I could be happier. The large patch of black is from my dog scratching the sofa before lying down. I did three coats, used 1500 grit sandpaper to sand the rough bits of leather that were loose and then a forth coat.

Glad I paid for the custom match. It was perfect!

I almost replaced the sofa because of this damage. So glad I found you!
James
3 out of 5
January 16, 2024
Be extra sure of the color before ordering
I ordered the cognac color as it matched the closest to our leather chair. But the color is 1 shade too light so my wife and I chose not to use it because we had to pay for a $10-11 dollar shipping fee. That being said, just be super sure before ordering so you don't waste more money for the extra shipping fee charges.
Reply from Lesandre:
Thank you. We encourage folks to order swatches before purchasing. We offer a few for free for those who reach out to us directly with good photos.
Ethal Jackson
5 out of 5
January 15, 2024
Great product!
Doug Shivers
1 out of 5
January 6, 2024
Wrong color I should have stayed with my original choice of plum your recommendation is an off orange color not what I thought 🤬
Reply from Lesandre Barley:
Hi Doug, When you reached out to us about color selection, we gave you a coupon code to order free swatches before buying product. That would have avoided your dissatisfaction.
Cognac Vinyl & Leather Finish photo review
Cognac Vinyl & Leather Finish photo review
Cognac Vinyl & Leather Finish photo review
+1
Kelly
5 out of 5
December 26, 2023
Lovely purchase
This was perfect for our stained leather couch from Article (brand). I used 3/4 of a big bottle for the couch and it took one hour. Very easy to apply and dried quickly. I highly recommend! Very pleased!
Rust Vinyl & Leather Finish photo review
Kathleen McMyne
5 out of 5
December 14, 2023
Cat scratches
I love your products. I have a leather sofa which had severe cat scratches, fading and stains.Thanks to your consultation and videos I was able to repair the damage and restore the color. For an amateur, I was very pleased with the result.
Plum Vinyl & Leather Finish photo review
Erin
5 out of 5
December 13, 2023
aniline handbag restoration
Just wanted to let you know the plum mixed with magenta and a little of the satin finish worked perfectly!! Actually the color mix without the satin was almost exact- the satin took some of the vibrance out and added a little sheen, but the satin definitely helped protect against rub and made it somewhat water resistant- so I just added a little extra magenta. So glad I found your product!
Cinnamon Vinyl & Leather Finish photo review
Cinnamon Vinyl & Leather Finish photo review
Cinnamon Vinyl & Leather Finish photo review
+1
Ginnie porter
5 out of 5
December 11, 2023
Recoloring and restuffing
I got a couple of really nice old couches with removable cushions and zippers in the back cushions allowing access for restuffing. Totally recolored as there was fading in places.
Beige Vinyl & Leather Finish photo review
Pam Holbrook
5 out of 5
December 8, 2023
All I can say is everyone thought I had new furniture. This paint is hands down the best leather paint!
After
Sand Vinyl & Leather Finish photo review
Rodney Fisher
5 out of 5
December 7, 2023
Land Rover Steering Wheel Restore
Worked great, very helpful advice from Rubnrestore
Anthony Sanchez
5 out of 5
December 6, 2023
Need recommendations
have some lean furniture that's rust in color reddish
brownish that I want to restore the color I recently have purchased a new recliner that is genuine leather not crazy about the color it's too burgundy want to diet to match the rest of my furniture or something that will complement it any suggestions on the easiest way to do this and colors that would recommend that would take to the recliner which is almost burgundy
Acacia Williams
5 out of 5
December 4, 2023
From Peach to Stone Gray
I love the end result!! the only thing I wish I had done differently is not to try to do in straight lines, but wish I had dab sponged fron the first coat on!
1 2 ... 146