Customer Reviews & Photos of Rub 'n Restore®

Picture of customer's faded aniline leather couch before
Picture of real customer's aniline leather couch after refinishing with Cognac Rub n Restore

Customer reviews

4.86
4.8628820960699 out of 5
Based on 3435 reviews
5
5 out of 5
93%
3195
4
4 out of 5
4%
128
3
3 out of 5
1%
35
2
2 out of 5
1%
35
1
1 out of 5
1%
42
1 2 ... 144
2nd coat
Rust <span>Vinyl & Leather Finish</span> photo review
+5
Edward Kowalke
5 out of 5
January 24, 2023
Beautiful Restoration
Spent about 5 hours saving this piece, but well worth it!
After
Mahogany <span>Vinyl & Leather Finish</span> photo review
+2
Kevin
5 out of 5
January 23, 2023
Rub n Restore worked perfectly
I was skeptical when I first decided to do this project but the staff was extremely helpful and the product worked better than expected. The leather couch was expensive when we bought it and I was worried I would make it worse but It looks better then when we bought it 10 years ago. It was so easy to do. Definitely recommend.
after
Picture of leather chair and ottoman changed to a pale grey with Rub n Restore leather paint
+2
Andrea
5 out of 5
January 21, 2023
PERFECT MATCH!!
I purchased a new leather sofa, loveseat and ottoman. I wanted an oversized chair and ottoman to match. I was able to find an oversized chair and ottoman same style but not the same color. I searched leather painting and came across Rub ‘n Restore. After seeing the reviews and photos on their website I decided to go with the advanced match custom color option. I highly recommend this option rather than trying to match paint colors off other websites. I am very very happy with the results. It is an exact match and the leather feels no different than before it was painted. I was also able to repair the scratches with the repair kit. Ha...More
I purchased a new leather sofa, loveseat and ottoman. I wanted an oversized chair and ottoman to match. I was able to find an oversized chair and ottoman same style but not the same color. I searched leather painting and came across Rub ‘n Restore. After seeing the reviews and photos on their website I decided to go with the advanced match custom color option. I highly recommend this option rather than trying to match paint colors off other websites. I am very very happy with the results. It is an exact match and the leather feels no different than before it was painted. I was also able to repair the scratches with the repair kit. Happy customer for sure!!
Shella Blanton
5 out of 5
January 20, 2023
Works!
Brought back the original shine!
Shella Blanton
5 out of 5
January 20, 2023
Beautiful color!
We loved this product. It was a perfect match to our dark navy couch.
Picture of leather chair discoloration fixed with Rub n Restore leather dye
Keith H
5 out of 5
January 15, 2023
Thank you for providing exactly what I needed to restore a faded area on my recliner. Thank you for your research and providing that to us!
Sponge photo review
+1
Kristy Cook
5 out of 5
January 11, 2023
This product is amazing!! Application was super easy. Original color hunter green, I covered with mahogany. I feel like I have a new chair!
Arnie Noe
5 out of 5
January 11, 2023
Fantastic Product - Better Service and Support
I have 2 Hancock & Moore leather sofas in my living room which I bought about 15 years apart. I had to have the 1st sofa "professionally" recolored which came out OK but a different color than its original color and different than the newer sofa. The older sofa was showing significant wear (2 large dogs) and I wanted to redo the color to match the newer sofa. I had Lesandre create a custom color to match the newer sofa and it came out really close to the newer target sofa and it looks like a brand new sofa! Lesandre was there the whole way giving me advice and coaching on techniques which I could not have done without her. The pro...More
I have 2 Hancock & Moore leather sofas in my living room which I bought about 15 years apart. I had to have the 1st sofa "professionally" recolored which came out OK but a different color than its original color and different than the newer sofa. The older sofa was showing significant wear (2 large dogs) and I wanted to redo the color to match the newer sofa. I had Lesandre create a custom color to match the newer sofa and it came out really close to the newer target sofa and it looks like a brand new sofa! Lesandre was there the whole way giving me advice and coaching on techniques which I could not have done without her.

The project was a bit of a challenge as at first I thought the leather was cracking. I sent Lesandre a photo of a damaged cushion and she felt that the leather was fine and that a layer of color was cracking. She had me try using denatured alcohol to test it and she was spot on. It was the color layer that was cracking. That was the good news. The bad news was that I had to use almost a full gallon of denatured alcohol to remove the old color. This was a pain, messy and time consuming but absolutely necessary. It took several man-days to prep the sofa versus a few hours to recolor it with Rub 'n Restore. I was trying to get a marbled look to match the newer sofa and I spent about 3 hours using different techniques and colors to get the look I wanted. In the end I gave up and was able to only get minor marbling. This is not a reflection of the product - but of the stripped down material that I was working with.

All in all I love this product. This was my 2nd project as my 1st was on vinyl seat cushions on a pontoon. I highly recommend the product and anyone can use it successfully with a little patience and some time trial and error. As Lesandre says in one of her videos, don't be afraid to make a mistake. You can use denatured alcohol to remove Rub 'n Restore and start over.

I can't say enough about the support I received from Lesandre. She was very responsive and quick to my emails. I felt like she was right there and was as much invested in the project as I was. Thanks so much, Lesandre.
Tom Hill
5 out of 5
January 6, 2023
Cognac leather color
Color was off from my sample but was easily tinted and worked fantastic. Easy application, good coverage and easy clean up.
After
Espresso <span>Vinyl & Leather Finish</span> photo review
+1
LF
5 out of 5
January 2, 2023
Fantastic product!
The dog messed up the leather couch so I googled how to fix. This product popped up on my search. After reading the reviews I decided to order. WOW! This stuff really works! I can't see where the damaged area used to be. I highly recommend this product!
Lynn
5 out of 5
December 31, 2022
Order from Canada
One of the most celebrated decision of the year. It totally transformed our family room. We are thrilled with the results.
After
Marine White <span>Vinyl & Leather Finish</span> photo review
Diana Edmondson
5 out of 5
December 29, 2022
WOW! The reviews DO NOT lie...
This was one of the most satisfying projects I have undertaken in a long time- complete instant gratification. It took a bit of elbow grease, but the outcome was worth it! We bought a used boat and the vinyl was yellowing and had a TON of black spots. We tried cleaning it with EVERYTHING. Our only option was to have them reupholstered, but I ran across Rub 'n Restore reviews and decided to try it. WOW, JUST WOW! All of the vinyl looks brand new again. They are all a uniform, gleaming, marine white color again. I only needed one 4 oz bottle to fix the entire boat. I reviewed their video tutorials and followed their directions. I prob...More
This was one of the most satisfying projects I have undertaken in a long time- complete instant gratification. It took a bit of elbow grease, but the outcome was worth it! We bought a used boat and the vinyl was yellowing and had a TON of black spots. We tried cleaning it with EVERYTHING. Our only option was to have them reupholstered, but I ran across Rub 'n Restore reviews and decided to try it. WOW, JUST WOW! All of the vinyl looks brand new again. They are all a uniform, gleaming, marine white color again. I only needed one 4 oz bottle to fix the entire boat. I reviewed their video tutorials and followed their directions. I probably did 4-6 layers depending on how black parts were. Then went over them once with the Clear Prep & Finish sealer. One of the really nice things about this product is how quickly it dries. I thought this was going to take days to complete. But really it just took a day (I had a lot to finish). If you are thinking about reupholstering, you should absolutely give this a shot first. It’s freakin fabulous.
mihaita stoinoiu
5 out of 5
December 26, 2022
Brilliant product
Stacking of Cherrywood and win colors details finished black
Cherrywood <span>Vinyl & Leather Finish</span> photo review
+3
Alexander Ross
5 out of 5
December 14, 2022
Greatest results with least work/skill needed
Here are some amazing before and after pics that really showcase the amazing results anyone can achieve with these products. If you've ever fingerpainted or wiped down a counter before, you already have all the practice you'll ever need. If you even sort of of follow the instructions in the videos and on the bottle you will have amazing results although you should follow them to the letter for best results. For anyone wondering like I was before I said screw it and gave it a shot, yes, these products are very forgiving. You really can't leave hard lines, like painting a wall or car with bad technique. Runs and streaks are almost non existent ...More
Here are some amazing before and after pics that really showcase the amazing results anyone can achieve with these products. If you've ever fingerpainted or wiped down a counter before, you already have all the practice you'll ever need. If you even sort of of follow the instructions in the videos and on the bottle you will have amazing results although you should follow them to the letter for best results. For anyone wondering like I was before I said screw it and gave it a shot, yes, these products are very forgiving. You really can't leave hard lines, like painting a wall or car with bad technique. Runs and streaks are almost non existent and easily corrected with just water and a wet sponge or towel. If somehow you did mess up or aren't happy just wipe off the area a little and start again. These products also allow for working at whatever pace you like, no real time limits. Have alook at my pics and keep in my mind I'm no artist. I just followed the directions.
After- armchair right side
Rust <span>Vinyl & Leather Finish</span> photo review
+7
Candelin Wahl
4 out of 5
December 14, 2022
Sponge-dyed armchair & couch in one day!
Love the way the color spreads on with an ordinary sponge, and dries super quick! The Rust color turned out to be a shade lighter than our pieces, but it also gave them a fresh new look. Wasn’t planning to recolor the scratched sofa, but since it only needed sanding (not filler repair), I’m so glad I did! Before and after pictures tell the story. I can’t say enough about the clear videos & prompt email communication with Lesandre & the RnR team!! So great to deal with a family business—these people know their stuff!
Candelin Wahl
5 out of 5
December 14, 2022
Rub & restore great results for a 1st timer!
Just finished saving a leather armchair with arms well-worn & ripped in several places! With clear YouTube videos & a couple of speedily answered email questions, I was good to go. Filler, cleaner, color & clear coat all worked as described & I'm quite happy with the results. One spot might need a re-do in the future, but for first time it was a positive experience.
David Watkins
5 out of 5
December 9, 2022
Repaired a tear and cat claw marks on a leather couch
Not only did the produce work beautifully, but the customer service was outstanding. Friendly and helpful. The videos were fun and informative. Highly recommend this company.
Donna
5 out of 5
December 8, 2022
What took me so long?
You've heard that saying "a picture says a thousand words"? Well, this is that picture(s)!
What it doesn't say is about Rub 'n Restore's AMAZING and SUPPORTIVE Pro and Customer Service. They gave me the total confidence to accomplish this project with results that are beyond my expectations!
Rub 'n Restore - you ROCK!
Signed,
Red Chili
After
Taupe <span>Vinyl & Leather Finish</span> photo review
+1
Paula Angelocci
5 out of 5
December 6, 2022
Rewarding project!!
I inherited an old bench with creases and worn spots. The leather was black and I purchased taupe. I have never worked with furniture before and it was so much fun. The project came out beautiful for a first time user. I will be back for more colors. I have told my friends about your fantastic products. Thank you for such a good product and experience and very informative directions.
after
Advanced Matching & Custom Color photo review
+1
Jim
5 out of 5
December 5, 2022
I DID IT!
After I couldn't find anyone to save my loveseat I tried it myself.
Cut it open and added stuffing that went flat. I found Rub N Restore on the internet and gave it a try. After I got my custom color and other materials I followed all the video instructions and it turned out great. Thanks Rub N Restore
Wine <span>Vinyl & Leather Finish</span> photo review
Agnes Coulter
5 out of 5
December 5, 2022
It’s great
It’s awesome products
KATHLEEN SHERIDAN
5 out of 5
December 2, 2022
DEMONSTRATION VIDEOS ON YOU TUBE ARE EXCELLENT
I REPAIRED A LEATHER SOFA AND ARMCHAIR THAT HAD HOLES. THE DEMONSTRATION VIDEOS WERE THE BEST TOOL TO HELP ME TO UNDERSTAND THE STEPS CLEARLY. THE PRODUCT DYE MATCHED THE LEATHER PERFECTLY.
Andrea
5 out of 5
December 1, 2022
Amazing!
I was skeptical at first, but the finish worked wonderfully and saved us thousands in replacing furniture! While it definitely doesn't look brand new, it is a huge improvement and worth every penny!!
Sofa after
Advanced Matching & Custom Color photo review
+1
Kathy
5 out of 5
November 27, 2022
Match was perfect!
Application was easier than we expected. We did 5 coats then rubbed with soft cloth to bring out the shine. There were a couple rough spots on the chairs and we were advised to use 325 sandpaper which smoothed out the area and the color is still uniform. As you can see in the photos the custom match was perfect, we did arms and cushions and left the bottom of the sofa as is. We have 1/2 the color and 1/2 clear and prep remaining. We did a 4:1 ratio.
1 2 ... 144