Customer Reviews & Photos of Rub 'n Restore®

Picture of customer's faded aniline leather couch before
Picture of real customer's aniline leather couch after refinishing with Cognac Rub n Restore

Customer reviews

4.86
4.8625185185185 out of 5
Based on 3375 reviews
5
5 out of 5
93%
3138
4
4 out of 5
4%
126
3
3 out of 5
1%
36
2
2 out of 5
1%
34
1
1 out of 5
1%
41
1 2 ... 141
Red Chili Vinyl & Leather Finish photo review
Ronnie
5 out of 5
September 29, 2023
Amazing and Easy!
I used Rub and Restore to recolor a jacket for a cosplay/halloween costume. The jacket was supposed to be red when I bought it but it came looking like a very dark maroon color. The Rub and Restore red chili color is advertised as accurately as it can be and the product came out looking amazing! It did not disappoint.
Arnold Althoff
2 out of 5
September 26, 2023
Rubnrestore
I ordered two times and still never got my match
Reply from Lesandre Barley:
Hi Arnold, there are hundreds of shades of off-white, ivory and cream colors, which is why we suggest folks order swatches. We'll mail you some free ones today. If those don't match, we can customize for a fee if you send a sample. You can exchange or return the Ivory as well.
Barbara Schneider
5 out of 5
September 24, 2023
Wonderful results. Don't know why I waited so long to try doing this. Saved me spending LOTS on replacement chairs!
Monica Escobar
5 out of 5
September 21, 2023
Black paint
Incredible product. It was so easy to apply and my old recliner looks like new again. Thank you.
After
Walnut Vinyl & Leather Finish photo review
+1
Birgitt
5 out of 5
September 19, 2023
Fabulous transformation!
This paint is so easy to use and the results are amazing. Re-finishing this sofa took about 8 hours total. Bought this for $200 for my daughter. It was a $5,000 couch that someone ruined with some sort of cleaner. Looks wonderful now.
Michael Rubino
5 out of 5
September 15, 2023
Great match...prefect!
Great match. Like magic.
Marina
5 out of 5
September 11, 2023
Fixed my pontoon boat seatss
I used this product to cover my pontoon boat seats that were old and dry with mold on them, it worked great. I cleaned the seats with rubbing alcohol and rubbed on several coats of paint. The paint dries pretty quick so can do many coats in one day. I also patched areas and used filler for the holes.
Red to espresso
Espresso Vinyl & Leather Finish photo review
Sandi Young
5 out of 5
September 4, 2023
Easy as pie
This was the easiest product to use. If I would have known how easy this was I would have done this color change years ago
Looking like new!
Leather Filler & Vinyl Repair Putty photo review
Debbie
5 out of 5
September 3, 2023
restoring loveseat and leather chair
Your products are amazing! I found them all easy to use, well worth the time and money it took to restore several pieces of leather sofas and a chair. I will recommend your products to all I meet who need to fix their leather furniture/car seats, etc.
Boring white running shoes become beautiful green leather
Lagoon Vinyl & Leather Finish photo review
Zen
5 out of 5
August 25, 2023
Used on White Leather Running Shoes
My boring running shoes that fit really well are now looking like a very expensive cool set of shoes! This product was so easy to use and did an amazing job.
Reply from Lesandre Barley:
Way cool! Alas, I think you'll be immediately touching them up (which is easy). Shoes take a beating, especially that crease where your foot bends. More info about shoes and other garments here. Funny too, the color on my screen looks like our Pine color, not Lagoon. Thanks!
after...WOW!
Beige Vinyl & Leather Finish photo review
Debbie Leo
5 out of 5
August 24, 2023
restoring loveseat and leather chair
These products are amazing, not only the results, but using them, too. I would recommend these to anyone who needs r just wants to restore a leather item for fun, use or profit.
Cheryl
3 out of 5
August 21, 2023
My first time using. I’ll have to see how it goes.
Brad
5 out of 5
August 17, 2023
Excellent product, works as advertised.
Joy
5 out of 5
August 16, 2023
What I needed
Luv it, we used marine white on our boat cushions, it worked very well. Definitely improved our old boat cushions. Used 2 coats, it looks better then before & helps restore it. We are please with the results. Just placed another order in for a different color for our lazy boy chair.
pr kirch
5 out of 5
August 13, 2023
Worked very well as a finisher to my couches, making them shiny and looking new.
pr kirch
5 out of 5
August 13, 2023
Once I OVERCAME my fear and got started, the product worked and now looks great. thanks
Ruth Penner
5 out of 5
August 13, 2023
Magic, absolutely magic! My couch which had very worn seats looks new again!!
After
Rust Vinyl & Leather Finish photo review
+4
Alex
5 out of 5
August 9, 2023
Amazing!
I was so intimidated by this project but I am so pleased with how it came out! It took me about two days using 2:1 Rust and Clear to get it where I wanted; somewhere between 2-3 coats. My couch is finally the color I wanted it to be (bought it on consignment) and I feel like I have the skills to touch up as needed. If you are feeling nervous, just go slow and trust the process! If you have questions, their consultants are also super helpful.
sandy forst
5 out of 5
August 9, 2023
This product is awesome!
I used R&R on a used sofa I bought for $150. The leather was quite beat up. It was brown, and my decor is gray, but I refurbished it anyway. It turned out well, but I don't like brown. I have 3 dogs and the redo was not holding up all that well. R&R makes this quite clear in all their literature and on their site. I was going to just buy a new sofa, but then I realized my big doofus dog would just ruin that one like he did my prior one because of our lifestyle. So I decided to make the used one the sofa of my dreams until Bear is at the Rainbow Bridge. He is almost 12. I made the brown sofa blue. It looked great, but the blue was comi...More
I used R&R on a used sofa I bought for $150. The leather was quite beat up. It was brown, and my decor is gray, but I refurbished it anyway. It turned out well, but I don't like brown. I have 3 dogs and the redo was not holding up all that well. R&R makes this quite clear in all their literature and on their site. I was going to just buy a new sofa, but then I realized my big doofus dog would just ruin that one like he did my prior one because of our lifestyle. So I decided to make the used one the sofa of my dreams until Bear is at the Rainbow Bridge. He is almost 12. I made the brown sofa blue. It looked great, but the blue was coming off on my clothes. I had used the topcoat. So I applied grey over the blue along with the topcoat over the midnite blue and the distressed look is beautiful. I ran out of the clear coat, but the results speak for themselves.
top original beige drawer and the rest colored to white
Marine White Vinyl & Leather Finish photo review
suzanne
5 out of 5
August 4, 2023
Fantastic product
I purchased a “white” desk online that was beige in color when received. I used a thin coat on a sponge to transform the color to blend with my decir
Before
Beige Vinyl & Leather Finish photo review
+1
Andrew
5 out of 5
August 4, 2023
Restored old boat seats
My boat seats were so worn and faded I did not need to do any prep work to support adhesion of the product. 30 minutes and three coats later and the seats look like new.
Before
Black Vinyl & Leather Finish photo review
+1
Vincent Grant
5 out of 5
August 2, 2023
Vintage auto repair
I have an 83' Porsche 911 that had some wear on the driver's armrest. The black vinyl was showing its age so I opted to go out on a limb and try this product rather spend $1000 for a new one. The resuts from black dye from R/R worked above and beyond my expectations. Great instructions that came with the kit and easy to use. Dried within minutes as stated and did not transfer onto clothing or skin when dried. The finish was to the eye, just like it rolled off the showroom floor, when compared to the passenger side.
Outstanding product!
Lori Patton
5 out of 5
July 31, 2023
Miracle
I thought that our leather chairs would need to be trashed after our cats scratched the heck out of them. I am amazed at how well this product worked. Hope that it holds up.
Jill York
5 out of 5
July 28, 2023
Great product. Easy to apply. The blue color is the perfect shade
1 2 ... 141