Customer Reviews & Photos of Rub 'n Restore®

Picture of customer's faded aniline leather couch before
Picture of real customer's aniline leather couch after refinishing with Cognac Rub n Restore

Customer reviews

4.85
4.8525840158147 out of 5
Based on 3541 reviews
5
5 out of 5
93%
3283
4
4 out of 5
4%
131
3
3 out of 5
1%
40
2
2 out of 5
1%
37
1
1 out of 5
1%
50
1 2 ... 148
Linda Clifford
3 out of 5
June 19, 2024
Beige leather conditioner
Really didn’t see a lot of difference. Filled in cracks temporarily.
Reply from Lesandre Barley:
There's only so much a new finish can do. Cracks need to be repaired with filler putty. This article has more info.
Vinyl Repair & Leather Fix KIT photo review
Vinyl Repair & Leather Fix KIT photo review
Vinyl Repair & Leather Fix KIT photo review
+1
Rilys mom
5 out of 5
June 19, 2024
Miraculous
The kit had everything I needed and very easy to use especially with the instructional videos. I absolutely cannot believe how awesome this product is. It is truly a miracle.
Hole Subpatch KIT photo review
Hole Subpatch KIT photo review
Hole Subpatch KIT photo review
+1
Rilys mom
5 out of 5
June 19, 2024
The best ever
This kit had more than enough for everything that I needed and with the video it was very easy to do
my project turned out so good
Cherrywood Vinyl & Leather Finish photo review
Cherrywood Vinyl & Leather Finish photo review
Cherrywood Vinyl & Leather Finish photo review
Cherrywood Vinyl & Leather Finish photo review
+2
Tom
5 out of 5
June 17, 2024
Motorcycle seat
Very easy to apply and clean up. After applying 3 coats I rubbed the leather seat and was surprised at the gloss look it gave. The finished product came out better than I expected. When from a rather light tan finish to a beautiful horse like saddle finish. Love the way it turned out!
Donna Archambeau
5 out of 5
June 14, 2024
Boat seat
I did a custom mix of Pine & Midnight Blue, the extra bottle was perfect for the task!
Pine Vinyl & Leather Finish photo review
Donna Archambeau
5 out of 5
June 14, 2024
Boat seat
Per your assist on color, i mixed the Pine and Midnight Blue to end up with a hunter green. It took a bit to get the right combo of the two, but in the end it tured out perfect
Mubashar Shahab
5 out of 5
June 12, 2024
Wonderful Product
Have used the colouring materials from Rub’n’ Restore on my dark brown and tan leather sofas and finished it off with this product. Never done anything like this before but I am very happy with the results. For the first 2 weeks - it looks like new and I am hoping it will stay that way for years to come!
Midnight Blue Vinyl & Leather Finish photo review
Midnight Blue Vinyl & Leather Finish photo review
Midnight Blue Vinyl & Leather Finish photo review
Midnight Blue Vinyl & Leather Finish photo review
Midnight Blue Vinyl & Leather Finish photo review
Midnight Blue Vinyl & Leather Finish photo review
+4
Dawn Roeder
5 out of 5
June 11, 2024
Brillant!
few weeks ago during my garage sale I was literally trying to give away our beat up leather furniture. After two decades of abuse from several pets and normal life it pained me to think I had to give in and throw it in the landfill. Researching what to do I found a very small business with amazing reviews on refurbishing genuine worn out leather furniture … Unbelievable results. So happy to have what feels like brand new furniture and NOT throwing crap away ! ( now on to the sofa!)
Cherrywood Vinyl & Leather Finish photo review
Cherrywood Vinyl & Leather Finish photo review
Cherrywood Vinyl & Leather Finish photo review
Cherrywood Vinyl & Leather Finish photo review
Cherrywood Vinyl & Leather Finish photo review
Cherrywood Vinyl & Leather Finish photo review
Cherrywood Vinyl & Leather Finish photo review
Cherrywood Vinyl & Leather Finish photo review
Cherrywood Vinyl & Leather Finish photo review
Cherrywood Vinyl & Leather Finish photo review
Cherrywood Vinyl & Leather Finish photo review
+9
Charles Schneider
4 out of 5
June 6, 2024
Faded sectional
big improvement on most distressed areas. Arm cushion still needs more attention. Color agent applies easily and drys quickly on microfiber material. a lot better but not perfect. Will continue to use for best results.
Satin Sealer photo review
Satin Sealer photo review
Satin Sealer photo review
+1
Barb
5 out of 5
June 6, 2024
Nice result
Used this product to restore a vintage 1960 ottoman. Looks and feels amazing!
Picture of Ekornes leather chair and ottoman after refinishing with Pine green Rub n Restore leather paint
Picture of Ekornes leather chair and ottoman before with sun fading and stains
Close-up picture of Ekornes leather chair and ottoman after refinishing with Pine green Rub n Restore leather dye
Close-up of fading and stains on Ekornes leather chair and ottoman
Picture of Ekornes leather chair and ottoman after refinishing with Pine green Rub n Restore leather paint
+3
Carly
5 out of 5
June 5, 2024
Wow, almost a perfect match to our pair of Ekornes chairs and foot stools. Very little was needed, and it rubbed on beautifully. We are delighted.
Steve
5 out of 5
May 28, 2024
Amazed at the results.
I was hesitatnt in purchasing simply due to everyone claims their product works. After trying a couple of other brands, and being dissapointed in the end, I decidided to try Rub N Restore. WOW am I glad I did. This product is remarkeable. Does exactly what it says and the ease of use was amazing. KUDOS for a wonderful product. Highly recommend.
Marine White Leather & Vinyl Protectant photo review
Marine White Leather & Vinyl Protectant photo review
Marine White Leather & Vinyl Protectant photo review
+1
Stephen Pennycuick
5 out of 5
May 20, 2024
Postage costs to New Zealand almost put me off buying this product. However, it has performed as advertised and after several coats my car ceiling looks like new. Cheaper and less wasteful than a new ceiling. Also received prompt helpful advice prior to purchase. Recommended. Thank you.
Jim Jones
5 out of 5
May 13, 2024
Works great!
Used to restore same color. Looks great and so far wearing well. Thanks
Jim Jones
5 out of 5
May 13, 2024
Works well
Added this to colors I was applying. Seemed great should help longevity!
Jim Jones
4 out of 5
May 13, 2024
Works well. Changed color.
This product worked well! Went from a dark mushroom to taupe. Easy to use. Covered well. Still have a couple spots where you sit that wants to flake off. Have touched up twice after cleaning again with alcohol, but tends to do it again on same places. Otherwise great product.
Jim Jones
4 out of 5
May 13, 2024
Works well. Changed color.
This product worked well! Went from a dark mushroom to taupe. Easy to use. Covered well. Still have a couple spots where you sit that wants to flake off. Have touched up twice after cleaning again with alcohol, but tends to do it again on same places. Otherwise great product.
Slate Vinyl & Leather Finish photo review
Mary Gallagher
2 out of 5
May 9, 2024
Didn’t work for me 🙁
I read all of the instructions, watched all of the videos several times, and did exactly what it told me to do, but it did not cover any of the damage or wear and tear that I had on my chairs. I was very hopeful, but in the end, it just didn’t work for me.
Reply from Lesandre Barley:
Hi Mary, the flakiness in the photo bears the hallmarks of bonded or faux leather. Color alone will not correct it. A repair compound (like filler) is needed to resurface it before color is applied. More info and a video tutorial are here. Still, because these materials delaminate, they also resist pretty much anything you put on them. For this reason, we do not recommend investing much in these materials and replacing them with a second-hand piece made of real leather. The link has more info. You can always reach out to us with photos for help choosing a good quality piece.
Pete
5 out of 5
May 9, 2024
Worked really well
I changed the decor of my living room but didn't want a new lounge chair so I used your product. It worked like a charm and changed the color from tan to slate.
Leather Checking Yuck !
Sand Vinyl & Leather Finish photo review
Ken Nelson
5 out of 5
May 8, 2024
The product did an Awesome job, I knew it would.
joy
5 out of 5
May 7, 2024
love this color and the results
love this color and it brought my leather West Elm couch back to life .
Slate Vinyl & Leather Finish photo review
Slate Vinyl & Leather Finish photo review
Slate Vinyl & Leather Finish photo review
Slate Vinyl & Leather Finish photo review
Slate Vinyl & Leather Finish photo review
Before
Slate Vinyl & Leather Finish photo review
+4
Suzanne Large
5 out of 5
May 6, 2024
Amazing product
22 year old sofa - restored! You have to follow the instructions and the video is great on the website. Prep very important. My project did need a lot of coats so patience is important but this product does what it says and I’m really chuffed with the end result 👍
Walnut Vinyl & Leather Finish photo review
Walnut Vinyl & Leather Finish photo review
Walnut Vinyl & Leather Finish photo review
Walnut Vinyl & Leather Finish photo review
Walnut Vinyl & Leather Finish photo review
Walnut Vinyl & Leather Finish photo review
Walnut Vinyl & Leather Finish photo review
Walnut Vinyl & Leather Finish photo review
After dye and glossy prep and finish
Walnut Vinyl & Leather Finish photo review
+7
Alex Q
5 out of 5
April 29, 2024
Worked wonderfully!
I bought an old couch and was able to restore it. The work is in the prep. The Rub N Restore product was so easy to apply and made the leather look like new. I look forward to the next project. The Walnut color looks like a realy nice grayish brown when it’s matte but when I applied the prep n finish it turned more into a darker chocolate brown. I do wish there was a matte finish product.
Richard Longobardo
5 out of 5
April 20, 2024
I Never Respond With Reviews, Except This One Time
Matching the color was a challenge but you did it perfectly. More importantly, although some of the dye leaked in shipping, you responded with compensation for my loss. That's what I call customer service which is rare today. My damaged and worn leather is greatly restored with your products. Thank you.
1 2 ... 148