Customer Reviews & Photos of Rub 'n Restore®

Picture of customer's faded aniline leather couch before
Picture of real customer's aniline leather couch after refinishing with Cognac Rub n Restore

Customer reviews

4.86
4.8640748319205 out of 5
Based on 3421 reviews
5
5 out of 5
93%
3186
4
4 out of 5
4%
123
3
3 out of 5
1%
36
2
2 out of 5
1%
34
1
1 out of 5
1%
42
1 2 ... 143
Jeffrey Gray
3 out of 5
March 22, 2023
Just a trial, color was wrong, hard to tell online. No refunds for anything used.
Reply from Lesandre:
Returning a $16 bottle of color becomes cost prohibitive due to the shipping expenses. Next time, consider ordering swatches. We would have mailed you some for free had you contacted us.
Orvis
5 out of 5
March 21, 2023
Leather chair restoration
color match was great. the material is very good to work with. dries faster than anticipated.
TYRONE ALLEN
5 out of 5
March 20, 2023
The bomb
I had a oil stain in my white boat vinyl sun deck. I scrubbed with everthing including dawn. The stain was there to stay. Then I found your product on instagram. You will never know a stain was there. Everyone, please buy this and you won't be diappointed, for-real you will not lose. I am a regualr consumer and not a spokes person for their product. Now I wished I did a before and after. My friend is getting ready to place an order.
Diane
5 out of 5
March 13, 2023
Awesome product!
I previously tried a "coloring balm" for leather from Amazon. It was a huge fail! Rub'nRestore helped me find the perfect match (Tobacco.) I am so pleased with the results I had with Rub'nRestore! I have recommended this to several friends and I am confident they will have great success as well. I'm going to tackle some car leather next. Thank you!
after cognac color
Picture of worn, discolored corner of ottoman after refinishing with Cognac leather paint by Rub n Restore
+1
Arthur
5 out of 5
March 7, 2023
Here are some before and after pictures of my ottoman restoration project. The results were more than expected! I followed the instructions which were easy to follow. It took about 1 1/2 hours to complete. Thanks.
Started with a bad look.
Black Vinyl & Leather Finish photo review
+3
RayInArizona
5 out of 5
February 18, 2023
Exceeded Expectations for Ford Restore Project
1999 Ford Expedition Restore. This project was straight forward. The dye is easy to work with and very forgiving. The finished project turned out great.
Harry C Anderson
5 out of 5
February 18, 2023
Sloppy Clumsy Old Guy Performs Miracle
Second time restoring my old leather couch (wife hates it) using rubnrestore Espressso. Originally changed couch and love seat from a light brown (like a baseball glove) to espresso dark brown . Fantastic results. Wore gloves but, being sloppy and in a hurry, I dripped stuff on the wood floor and on my wrists. The cleanup was easy (water based) before the wife got home. I saved the sponges in a plastic bag and use them again (although they are hard a as rock and need a little rinsing) whenever the furniture need touching up. Dries fast so I can resume my job as a couch potato very quickly. Originally thought the stuff would never work but I ...More
Second time restoring my old leather couch (wife hates it) using rubnrestore Espressso. Originally changed couch and love seat from a light brown (like a baseball glove) to espresso dark brown . Fantastic results. Wore gloves but, being sloppy and in a hurry, I dripped stuff on the wood floor and on my wrists. The cleanup was easy (water based) before the wife got home. I saved the sponges in a plastic bag and use them again (although they are hard a as rock and need a little rinsing) whenever the furniture need touching up. Dries fast so I can resume my job as a couch potato very quickly. Originally thought the stuff would never work but I was wrong. The product works.
Camel Vinyl & Leather Finish photo review
P Kapavik
5 out of 5
February 17, 2023
Amazing
I had serious doubts as to how I was going to fix a mysterious and sudden spot that showed up on my leather couch. With the help of the experts at Rub N' Restore - my couch is fixed! I can't believe my eyes. See for yourself in my before and after photos 😀 Very happy customer!
AFTER: Chair re-colored to RUST!
Rust Vinyl & Leather Finish photo review
+1
Dean Erickson
5 out of 5
February 17, 2023
What a Transformation!
It was an amazing and simple way to change the color of my leather chair. I'd recommend this process to anyone!
Adamos
5 out of 5
February 14, 2023
Excellent product and excellent customer service
Sue Rossiter
5 out of 5
February 14, 2023
Great Product
We’ve done a few projects with products from Rub & Restore and have nothing but good things to say. The sealer has kept one office chair in great shape for 3 years now. We just did another chair and skipped the sealer. When the chair rubbed on the wood edge of the desk, paint came off. We ordered the sealer and now the paint stays on. Don’t skip this final step.
Cognac Vinyl & Leather Finish photo review
+1
LISA ALLEN
5 out of 5
February 13, 2023
Great Product
This stuff is fantastic, and the color matched perfectly!
The AFTER is amazing!!
Wine Vinyl & Leather Finish photo review
+6
Michelle Forys
5 out of 5
February 12, 2023
Vintage gets new life...and it's AMAZING!
I purchased two vintage leather chairs, in pretty good shape except for some small tears and the leather being an awful "school bus yellow" to start.

Using the repair putty and the leather dye to bring them to a gorgeous wine-burgundy shade...I am so delighted with the result. Finishing them with the Clear Prep & Finish, with a tiny bit of mahogany dye in it was the grande finale to give these chairs their final, gently aged look. Just so happy with the result, that only took on weekend to achieve. These chairs have new life and I have bragging rights to my showroom-worthy results! THANK YOU!!
Picture of cat claw damage on vinyl boat upholstery
Judy DeShon
5 out of 5
February 5, 2023
Cat? What cat?
This recliner shows (almost) no sign of its once having been out cat’s favorite scratching destination. The products shipped the same day as I ordered them and arrived in record time! The repair products, techniques, and videos were top notch and the dye went on beautifully. I did not order a sample swatch but went with marine white based on description alone. It’s rather a cool white and in our very warm living room might not have been the best choice. As reasonably priced as these products are and as easy as they are to use, I’m going to order in the Ivory and possibly re—apply. I think I’ll be happier in the long run and this chair has a l...More
This recliner shows (almost) no sign of its once having been out cat’s favorite scratching destination. The products shipped the same day as I ordered them and arrived in record time! The repair products, techniques, and videos were top notch and the dye went on beautifully. I did not order a sample swatch but went with marine white based on description alone. It’s rather a cool white and in our very warm living room might not have been the best choice. As reasonably priced as these products are and as easy as they are to use, I’m going to order in the Ivory and possibly re—apply. I think I’ll be happier in the long run and this chair has a lot of life left.
(I learned about Rub N Restore through Facebook Marketplace when I had the recliner listed for sale. It’s my husband's favorite chair but I thought it was beyond hope. This lovely woman who came across my listing introduced me to these products! Thanks to her and Rub N Restore, I deleted the listing and salvaged the chair!)
2nd coat
Rust Vinyl & Leather Finish photo review
+5
Edward Kowalke
5 out of 5
January 24, 2023
Beautiful Restoration
Spent about 5 hours saving this piece, but well worth it!
After
Mahogany Vinyl & Leather Finish photo review
+2
Kevin
5 out of 5
January 23, 2023
Rub n Restore worked perfectly
I was skeptical when I first decided to do this project but the staff was extremely helpful and the product worked better than expected. The leather couch was expensive when we bought it and I was worried I would make it worse but It looks better then when we bought it 10 years ago. It was so easy to do. Definitely recommend.
after
Picture of leather chair and ottoman changed to a pale grey with Rub n Restore leather paint
+2
Andrea
5 out of 5
January 21, 2023
PERFECT MATCH!!
I purchased a new leather sofa, loveseat and ottoman. I wanted an oversized chair and ottoman to match. I was able to find an oversized chair and ottoman same style but not the same color. I searched leather painting and came across Rub ‘n Restore. After seeing the reviews and photos on their website I decided to go with the advanced match custom color option. I highly recommend this option rather than trying to match paint colors off other websites. I am very very happy with the results. It is an exact match and the leather feels no different than before it was painted. I was also able to repair the scratches with the repair kit. Ha...More
I purchased a new leather sofa, loveseat and ottoman. I wanted an oversized chair and ottoman to match. I was able to find an oversized chair and ottoman same style but not the same color. I searched leather painting and came across Rub ‘n Restore. After seeing the reviews and photos on their website I decided to go with the advanced match custom color option. I highly recommend this option rather than trying to match paint colors off other websites. I am very very happy with the results. It is an exact match and the leather feels no different than before it was painted. I was also able to repair the scratches with the repair kit. Happy customer for sure!!
Shella Blanton
5 out of 5
January 20, 2023
Works!
Brought back the original shine!
Shella Blanton
5 out of 5
January 20, 2023
Beautiful color!
We loved this product. It was a perfect match to our dark navy couch.
Keith H
5 out of 5
January 15, 2023
Thank you for providing exactly what I needed to restore a faded area on my recliner. Thank you for your research and providing that to us!
Sponge photo review
+1
Kristy Cook
5 out of 5
January 11, 2023
This product is amazing!! Application was super easy. Original color hunter green, I covered with mahogany. I feel like I have a new chair!
Arnie Noe
5 out of 5
January 11, 2023
Fantastic Product - Better Service and Support
I have 2 Hancock & Moore leather sofas in my living room which I bought about 15 years apart. I had to have the 1st sofa "professionally" recolored which came out OK but a different color than its original color and different than the newer sofa. The older sofa was showing significant wear (2 large dogs) and I wanted to redo the color to match the newer sofa. I had Lesandre create a custom color to match the newer sofa and it came out really close to the newer target sofa and it looks like a brand new sofa! Lesandre was there the whole way giving me advice and coaching on techniques which I could not have done without her. The pro...More
I have 2 Hancock & Moore leather sofas in my living room which I bought about 15 years apart. I had to have the 1st sofa "professionally" recolored which came out OK but a different color than its original color and different than the newer sofa. The older sofa was showing significant wear (2 large dogs) and I wanted to redo the color to match the newer sofa. I had Lesandre create a custom color to match the newer sofa and it came out really close to the newer target sofa and it looks like a brand new sofa! Lesandre was there the whole way giving me advice and coaching on techniques which I could not have done without her.

The project was a bit of a challenge as at first I thought the leather was cracking. I sent Lesandre a photo of a damaged cushion and she felt that the leather was fine and that a layer of color was cracking. She had me try using denatured alcohol to test it and she was spot on. It was the color layer that was cracking. That was the good news. The bad news was that I had to use almost a full gallon of denatured alcohol to remove the old color. This was a pain, messy and time consuming but absolutely necessary. It took several man-days to prep the sofa versus a few hours to recolor it with Rub 'n Restore. I was trying to get a marbled look to match the newer sofa and I spent about 3 hours using different techniques and colors to get the look I wanted. In the end I gave up and was able to only get minor marbling. This is not a reflection of the product - but of the stripped down material that I was working with.

All in all I love this product. This was my 2nd project as my 1st was on vinyl seat cushions on a pontoon. I highly recommend the product and anyone can use it successfully with a little patience and some time trial and error. As Lesandre says in one of her videos, don't be afraid to make a mistake. You can use denatured alcohol to remove Rub 'n Restore and start over.

I can't say enough about the support I received from Lesandre. She was very responsive and quick to my emails. I felt like she was right there and was as much invested in the project as I was. Thanks so much, Lesandre.
Tom Hill
5 out of 5
January 6, 2023
Cognac leather color
Color was off from my sample but was easily tinted and worked fantastic. Easy application, good coverage and easy clean up.
After
Espresso Vinyl & Leather Finish photo review
+1
LF
5 out of 5
January 2, 2023
Fantastic product!
The dog messed up the leather couch so I googled how to fix. This product popped up on my search. After reading the reviews I decided to order. WOW! This stuff really works! I can't see where the damaged area used to be. I highly recommend this product!
1 2 ... 143